Parallel Bible

The Richer Life

[ Message Board Home ]    [ Post Reply ]    [ Log In ]    [ Sign Up ]

Subject: Multiple choice forms and response email
  Posted: 02/04/2004 at 4:16:53 pm
  By: mark.miller

Hi.

Can you help please?

I am a newbie to cgi but have managed to get your bizmail script running on our site. It works really well complete with fully customised .html email responses. However i have run into a problem that I am unable to solve...

A multiple choice questionnare/booking form has been created. Everything is working fine, we get the email with all the details and the .dat file is populated etc. but in the response mail to the "sign up" I seem to get all the code for the individual fields as you can see in the example below:

mark miller
some company ltd
Speaker 1 on Tuesday 24th Feb at 12 noon
{Tuesday2}
Speaker 2 on Tuesday 24th Feb at 14:00
{Tuesday4}
{Wednesday1}

an example of the check box code would be "<input name="Tuesday2" type="checkbox" id="Tuesday2" value="speaker X on Tuesday 24th February at 13:00">

Subject: Re: Multiple choice forms and response email
  Posted: 02/04/2004 at 4:19:11 pm

Email got chopped here is the rest!!

Is this the correct approach?
and/or
Is there some code that i should put on the form that will say if the check box is blank leave this field blank in the response email.

Thank you for your time

M :0)

Posted: 02/05/2004 at 6:30:16 am
  By: Seth Knorr

I see what you are trying to do. What you want to use is a "radio" effect, where one selection has to be made. All RADIO buttons will have the same name example all will be name="event" and then use {event}

Here is the problem you are running into. By default Browsers in general ignore non checked CHECK BOX fields, as if they are not even on the form, unlike hidden or text TYPE fields.

Your other option would be for every check box field you have on your form to put a hidden field above it. So if the check box field is not clicked nothing will happen.